The International Conference "Modern Development of Magnetic Resonance" was held in Kazan
from 24 till 28 September 2013.

There were three plenary sessions with a total of ten talks. The conference included eight sections: chemical and biological systems; strongly correlated electron systems; electron spin based methods for electronic and spatial structure determination in physics, chemistry and biology; spin-based information processing; theory of magnetic resonance and modern methods of magnetic resonance; low-dimensional systems and nanosystems, and a session devoted to the memory of the late Yurii V. Yablokov. There were presented 41 oral and invited talks, and 47 posters. Presentations were made by the scientists from China, Czech Republic, Germany, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Poland, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and USA.

Kev Salikhov opens the conference

To give a short overview of plenary talks, first we mention Wolfgang Lubitz (Mülheim-an-der-Ruhr), who presented the mechanistic model for water oxidation in photosynthesis and Klaus Möbius (Berlin), who discussed probing of conformational changes in photosynthetic protein complexes using high-field dipolar EPR spectroscopy. The lecture of Aleksei Semenov (Moscow) was devoted to studies of the asymmetry of electron transfer in photosystem I using femtosecond pump-probe flash spectrometry and high-field W-band transient EPR spectroscopy. Valery Khramtsov (Columbus) gave a talk about multifunctional in vivo EPR spectroscopy and imaging using advanced nitroxide and trityl paramagnetic probes. Development and applications of multi-extreme THz and high-field ESR were presented by Hitoshi Ohta (Kobe) and Vladislav Kataev (Dresden). Sergei Demishev (Moscow) reported about high-frequency EPR for studying strong correlated system. The plenary lecture of Michael Bowman (Tuscaloosa) was concerned with the problems of the dynamic nuclear polarization. EPR methods including PELDOR of spin-labeled molecules were discussed by Gunnar Jeschke (Zurich), Yurii Tsvetkov (Novosibirsk) and Kev Salikhov (Kazan). Oral and invited talks covered all aspects of the scope of the conference. The poster session reflected different aspects of the application EPR and NMR spectroscopy.

Discussions during the poster session

A reception at the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tatarstan on September 25, 2013 was dedicated to new foreign members of the Academy, Klaus Möbius (Berlin) and Wolfgang Lubitz

Klaus Möbius and Wolfgang Lubitz, foreign members
of the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tatarstan

The Zavoisky Award 2013 ceremony took place on September 27. The Zavoisky Awardee 2013 Yurii Tsvetkov (Novosibirsk) was distinguished for his contribution to the application of pulse EPR methods to studying structure of disordered systems. The decision of the Zavoisky Award Committee was announced by Kev M. Salikhov, Chairman of the Zavoisky Award Committee, Zavoisky Awardee 2004.The award was presented by Rimma A. Ratnikova, Deputy Chairman of State Council of the Republic of Tatarstan. Hitoshi Ohta, Vice President of the International EPR Society, Gunnar Jeschke, Secretary of the Groupement AMPERE, Wolfgang Lubitz, member of the ISMAR Committee, Zavoisky Awardee 2002, were among those who warmly congratulated Yurii Tsvetkov. Special congratulations from Springer were forwarded to him as well. The laureate gave a plenary talk “Pulsed EPR Dipolar Spectroscopy and Its Applications”.

Hitoshi Ohta gives his talk

We are grateful to the participants of the Zavoisky Week and to everybody who contributed to its organization. The support of the Government of the Republic of Tatarstan, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russian Foundation for Basic Research, Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tatarstan, and Bruker BioSpin is gratefully acknowledged.

Chairman of the Program Committee
Kev M. Salikhov 
Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee
Valery Tarasov